Tires?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tires?

So, what do you run for tires? I've been running Michelin Commanders for a few years. I 've got nothing but good to say about them.
    I spent most of my money on women, whiskey,and motorcycles. The rest, I just wasted.

I use Shinko 777 both front and rear. They are very soft and stick to the road in all conditions. I've had problems with the fronts cupping in the past. They are 100/90-19 would start to cup after about 6000 miles. Apparently, I'm not the only one that had this problem and Shinko addressed it by releasing a new tire which is the same number but has HD at the end which stands for Heavy Duty. The weak sidewalks were stiffened up and I haven't had any problems with them. 777's were really inexpensive when they came out but the price climbed since then but they are still well below the cost of comparable tires made by other manufacturers. I'm staying with them until they give me a reason not to.

Comment

Shinko tourmaster 230 great tyre...use to run Avon venoms ,but they don't make them anymore which is to bad they were the best.
      Never trade the thrills of living for the security of existence.

Comment

I've been running a set of Michelin Commander II's for the last couple of years. I really like them, and it looks like I'm going to get a third year of use out of them.
        Head Above Water...Ass Below The Radar

Comment

What is the average mileage that you guys are getting out of a Commander II?

Comment

• Stairman
            Stairman commented
            Editing a comment
            I've got 10,000 on the front and rear. I'll be able to ride this summer, maybe more on the rear. The front has less wear.

Originally posted by Terry View Post
          What is the average mileage that you guys are getting out of a Commander II?
          Assuming mine last the rest of this year, 18k or so.

Comment